High Tea @ Claridges

Two weeks ago I was treated to High Tea at one of Londons oldest hotels, Claridges. Just before New Years my Uncle informed me they were coming to the UK for a few weeks and they would like to catch up while they were here. I don’t get to see them very often and when they suggested High Tea I jumped at the opportunity

Image

 

As soon as you walk into the lobby of Claridges you feel like you have travelled back in time to the 1920’s. The hotel is so art deco its fabulous. From the style of the rooms to the attitude of the staff, Claridges really pays homage to a more decadent time, I mean look at it

Image

Image

Image

 Image

Image

So as soon as you are seated in the tea room you are presented with a menu full of teas for you to choose from. After much discussion I went for the tea named L’Opera with honey on the side. I mean with a name like that how could I not choose it.

 Image

Image

Once your tea is poured your waiter will explain the menu and let you choose if you want all your nibbles at the same time or the sandwiches first and desserts later. We went for the latter. By the time we were half way through the cakes section I was stuffed. Cake drunk as Clare & Arties friend Maureen calls it. She is one sassy older woman. I hope I’m that fabulous when I’m her age

ImageImage

Image

 Image

It was a lovely afternoon filled with cups & cups of tea, delicious sandwiches, fabulous cakes and excellent company.

Image

Image

Image

 

Hopefully next time they come into town we will find another afternoon tea to try out

 Until next time

Em xoxo

Leave a Reply

