Miss Marples Tea Room

Two weeks ago I had a girls day out with my Mum & Sister. We headed up to Sassafrass (don’t you just love the name) which is a tiny little town in the hills filled with adorable little shops and cafes. One of the main cafes is Miss Marples Tea Room. It’s a little place inspired by Agatha Christies character and is filled with Miss Marples memorabilia.

 IMG_1012[1]  

It is quite a busy place which doesn’t take reservations, you just turn up, put your name on the list and wait until a table becomes available. It can sometimes take up to 2 hours, so that’s when you go looking at all the beautiful shops in the town. Luckily for us as we walked in a table for 3 left and we were seated straight away. Even better it was Christmas in July! The whole place was decked out in Christmas decorations including a crackling fire place with stockings, classic Christmas music playing and they had a Christmas in July menu which consisted of Festive Fingers: an open sandwich with sliced turkey breast, cranberry sauce and cheddar cheese and for dessert, Christmas Pudding of course. Mum and I went straight for the Festive Fingers while my sister who is Gluten Intolerant went for the homemade potato and leek soup. Both were extremely delicious.

IMG_1013[1]

Then came dessert. Now I don’t like Christmas Pudding. I can hear the gasps from here. I don’t know what it is but it just ain’t for me, instead mum and I shared Devonshire Tea. It comes with 2 extremely large scones with your choice of original or fruit or one of each. We opted for one of each, mum the fruit and me the original and then we slathered them in homemade raspberry jam and cream. So GOOD!!! My sister went for the gluten free option of The Vicars Folly. A gigantic butterscotch sundae with honeycomb piece and caramel fudge. It was sinfully delicious. I would know since mum and I had to help her finish it. 

IMG_1011[1]

  Miss Marples is definitely worth the wait if you ever get a chance to go there and it’s so pretty that  you may not even notice the wait. It was so nice getting to spend sometime just us girls and even  better since we sort of got a mini Christmas. It’s going to be a very difficult time of year December,  since my family is obsessed with Christmas and this is the first year I won’t be with my family but on  the positive side, it’s the first time I’ll get a White Christmas. No one can be sad about that.

Em xoxo

 

 

One thought on “Miss Marples Tea Room

  1. Pingback: Miss Marple #6: A Pocket Full Of Rye by Agatha Christie | Vintage (and not so vintage) Paperbacks

Leave a Reply

